Different forms of MMO programming

Posted By: CreatorOfMyth

Different forms of MMO programming - 08/18/06 16:49

Hello, I'm new to 3D GameStudio, though a reasonably experienced programmer overall. I've been studying different forms of MMO programming the past year and I'm curious to know what 3dGS if capable of.

A recent idea for an MMO system I've come up with is to divide the world into many seperate "zones" and have each one hosted by a seperate server. The twist here would be that these servers are not dedicated machines paid for by the company. Rather, the servers would actually be the players themselves. The first client to enter a zone would become the host of that zone and all others to enter would simply stay as clients. Should a more capable client enter the zone they could take over as host, so as to make that the most efficient machine is always hosting. I'm working on a tight budget and am unable to readily afford expensive machines and a high-end connection, so this theory of programming would serve my purposes very nicely.

However, everything I've come across so far involving 3dGS and multiplayer makes the server seem to be a permanent installment. This is not to say that a player can't be a server as well as a client, I know this is quite feasible. What I mean to say is that when a server closes so does its hosted session, meaning that its particular zone or part of the game world would vanish with it, which creates potential problems for an MMO. My theory requires a very fluid system in which not only does a client switch from server to server, but the servers themselves switch from machine to machine as players join, leave, and move about the different world zones.