Publishing problem

Posted By: Sub_Game

Publishing problem - 07/19/10 04:50


I can't work out why my project runs perfectly within SED, but when I publish it I have the following:
Invalid name: sub_prototype_test_2.wdl
then it proceeds to publish the project.

When it executed I get the following errors:
t_day_sky+6.TGA: Can't open file
WAVEMODEL_NEAR.MDL: Can't open file
WAVEMODEL_MID.MDL: Can't open file
WAVEMODEL_MID.MDL: Can't open file
then the game starts with no textures, models or sprites in play. The sounds do work.

All those models and sprites have been copied into the published projects .cd file by the publisher.

Help please?
Posted By: Spirit

Re: Publishing problem - 07/20/10 16:29

"Invalid name" means this name wont work, its most likely too long for an old WDL file. Use short names or in the long run, switch to lite-C! WDL was for A5 and A6, it makes no sense with A7.
Posted By: Sub_Game

Re: Publishing problem - 07/21/10 00:35

That is strange - I am using A7 lite-C. My code is compiling from a .c file. There is no wdl file in the game directory.

I have run it with a shorter name and no longer get the "Invalid name: sub_prototype_test_2.wdl" error, but it still has the other errors when I execute the compiled game:
t_day_sky+6.TGA: Can't open file
WAVEMODEL_NEAR.MDL: Can't open file
WAVEMODEL_MID.MDL: Can't open file
WAVEMODEL_MID.MDL: Can't open file
Posted By: bart_the_13th

Re: Publishing problem - 07/21/10 06:48

do you still use : <t_day_sky+6.TGA> ?
if yes then try using "t_day_sky+6.TGA"
Posted By: Tobias

Re: Publishing problem - 07/21/10 08:22

Also check if the models are in the work folder or in the path.
Posted By: Sub_Game

Re: Publishing problem - 07/21/10 13:11

Originally Posted By: bart_the_13th
do you still use : <t_day_sky+6.TGA> ?
if yes then try using "t_day_sky+6.TGA"


Thanks for your help. Here is my code. Works fine when run from SED:
Code:
level_load ("");
my_sky = ent_createlayer("sprites/t_day_sky+6.tga", SKY | CUBE | VISIBLE, 0);



Code:
my_updated_wave = ent_create("waves/wavemodel_near.mdl", vector(0, 0, 10000), wave_action);



Code:
ent_create("waves/wavemodel_mid.mdl", vector(x_temp*224*3, y_temp*224*3, 0), wave_action);



Originally Posted By: Tobias
Also check if the models are in the work folder or in the path.


The models are in the specified path and they are also all in the root of the published folder.

I tried // out the specified models but it just couldn't find other models.

Posted By: Ottawa

Re: Publishing problem - 07/21/10 15:04

Hi!

I suggest that you use

#define PRAGMA_PATH "path";
at the beginning of your code and then
in your code

ent_create("wavemodel_mid.mdl",..........
You will not have to give the path. wink
© 2024 lite-C Forums