Level will not run after compiling

Posted By: Leon_Kennedy

Level will not run after compiling - 09/01/08 21:14

Good afternoon all! I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked and answered.

I am new to GameStudio, as well as creating games. I have GameStudio Pro 7.05/WED v6.8291. I am working through the tutorial that is posted on the web, and I get to the part about compiling and running the level (well, the house, but go with me on this). So I compile the level just fine, and then I attempt to run it. When I click the "run" button, I get a screen with the following information in it:

first.wmb -nx 30

First is the name of the project, and I understand the nexus switch with 30 mb. So I click ok, and watch it.... not run. What? When I attempt to run the level, it looks as if the engine is going to produce a window with my level in it, but the window closes almost immediately.

Looking at the tutorial, it says that some people may have problems, and to set the Video Out to GXLBASE.DLL. I tried that, and I get the same thing - it appears that it will run, but the window closes immediately.

Here is what I have tried so far:

Running without the nexus switch
Changing the video out to EVERY option available
Adding a light source (even though the tutorial doesn't state to add one)

Can someone help me here? I love the ease of WED, and am a C programmer by trade (meaning that Lite-C should be a breeze for me when I get that far). I can't wait to get some of these ideas out of my head, but I can't get past this part. Does anyone have any ideas as to why I cannot get the level to run?
Posted By: Angelus1818

Re: Level will not run after compiling - 09/02/08 00:59

I'm having the exact same problem! I even posted it here! (Not flaming you for posting to) Anyway I belive i know the answer!!!