Shader questions: When, where, how...

Posted By: Drew

Shader questions: When, where, how... - 04/17/04 06:11

let me just preface this: I'm not a coder, so its easier said than done..but I would be willing to trade art assets for shaders...

- Is there a Displacement map shader that could work with GS... a dx8.1 shader? If so, I would think this is a priority for conitec and users, its the new standard for charcters and weapons...(please, please!)
- can the bump shader be modified to do this?
- are there any shaders currently for gamestudio that handle lighting correctly, not just sun position?
- Are there any shader folks that would be willing to trade art for shaders? I desperatly need a glow and depth of field shader(s).
- Are there plans for easier implementation of .fx anbd cg shaders? like a copy and paste? (or do i really not understand shader integration...)
- Has anyone seen or tested the shader editor?
(i know its not in beta yet..where is it!! )
- why am I so obsessed with shaders? hehehe
Posted By: Alexander Esslinger

Re: Shader questions: When, where, how... - 04/17/04 07:14

Quote:

Is there a Displacement map shader that could work with GS... a dx8.1 shader

It's not possible to make a displacement mapping shader in DirectX 8 at all.

Quote:

are there any shaders currently for gamestudio that handle lighting correctly

Yes there are some, but I don't know of any public ones.

Quote:

Are there plans for easier implementation of .fx anbd cg shaders

No, not until the change to DirectX 9 is done. Until then, you need shader assembler.

Quote:

Has anyone seen or tested the shader editor?

No, and I don't think that it's really in development at the moment.
Posted By: PurpleTaiters

Re: Shader questions: When, where, how... - 04/17/04 07:23

Quote:

- why am I so obsessed with shaders? hehehe

Shaders are cool. I'm obsessed with shaders too (just not publically). Wait a minute! The above statement made itself false by me posting.