Per Pixel / Normal Mapping Tutorial v1.1..

Posted By: Drew

Per Pixel / Normal Mapping Tutorial v1.1.. - 07/12/04 12:34

****** UPDATED ****** v1.1

*Added info on converting textures to normal maps, which works great. Plus an amazing link so people can get versions going for other 3D apps...

Here's the first version of my "Normal Mapping / Per Pixel shading" Tutorial. Its based on Matt Aufderheide's perpixel code and took me a while to get it out to A6
So, its a work in progress, this is the first technique I came up with that works. Please help expand and improve it!

Im not a shader coder, so Im sorry If I can't answer the technical questions, but Im sure the gurus are watching and answering...

I've also included 2 crate models, each with a norm map.
One has just a norm map for surreal editor, the other has a 32bit alpha specular map for my tutorial...

grab it Here:
TUTORIAL .zip

Playable tech demo:
Demo

killer Normal mapping link:
http://sv3.3dbuzz.com/vbforum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77037

please share screens and demos!
Drew

Posted By: Alexander Esslinger

Re: Per Pixel / Normal Mapping Tutorial v1.1.. - 07/12/04 20:36

How about calling it "per pixel diffuse lighting", instead of normalmapping? The later one would be a model with a normal map applied .
Posted By: Dan Silverman

Re: Per Pixel / Normal Mapping Tutorial v1.1.. - 07/12/04 21:09

Quote:

How about calling it "per pixel diffuse lighting", instead of normalmapping? The later one would be a model with a normal map applied .

Possibly because there is a model in there that has a normal map applied?

Re: Per Pixel / Normal Mapping Tutorial v1.1.. - 07/12/04 21:10

Thanks, Drew! I will be working through this one when I can find the time ... Time! Time! Wherefore art thoyu, Time!

Re: Per Pixel / Normal Mapping Tutorial v1.1.. - 07/13/04 00:55

Quote:

Possibly because there is a model in there that has a normal map applied?