quants measurement

Posted By: HeelX

quants measurement - 01/14/07 01:52

For a DLL I'm currently programming I would like to know something about measurements you are used to: quants per meters. For our upcoming title we took 64 quants as one meter, but I'm unsure what the majority is using and I need some default values. So this is now up to you: I hope to get at least some vague direction with this
Posted By: lostclimate

Re: quants measurement - 01/14/07 03:40

to be honest (and im not a level designer) ive never really tried to stick to strict guidlines, i just do what looks right, even from my programming standpoint, if you had an fps were you moved the speed a normal human being would, then it would be a horrible game, because of the slow pace.
Posted By: Ichiro

Re: quants measurement - 01/14/07 06:10

Many human models seem to be (slightly less than) 64 quants high, so we've been going with a rough 32q=1m. Another benefit of this is that I can go outside and scream "1 meter! Lucky 32! Lucky 32! Who wants one meter? Going once! Going twice! GO AHEAD AND CALL THE POLICE. SEE IF WE CARE!"

The police take quant bribes in powers of two, which 32 is one of.

I tend to find that whatever you go with, establishing an actual, concrete metric helps keep things in proportion.

Re: quants measurement - 01/14/07 10:39

Thanks!

Well, there are several reasons why someone should consider some restrictions like quant measurement

• texturing: if you choose 256, 256x256 is your base texture size and (in a wider sense) more detailled than a lower measure
  • if you take a small measure, you could have problems with collision precision, physics eventually
  • if you take a measure which is very great, you could exceed on large maps the native map size and you could get errors at the bounds
  • if you take a very small measurement, you can eventually get in trouble when you do extensive division calculations