Fighting Game

Posted By: Comatose

Fighting Game - 01/02/09 05:32

Hi all,

I'm completely new to this program but not to programming itself. A few years ago I was programming a little in C++ but now I stick mostly to php for my website.

I am going through the workshop tutorials (I have not gotten very far yet since I have only just started) but I was wondering what the best route would be to make a fighting game similar to the original Mortal Kombat game. Essentially what I'm looking for is a 2D game with 3D characters (if that makes sense).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Posted By: lostclimate

Re: Fighting Game - 01/02/09 07:03

make it so your characters only walk on two axis' and keep track of what animation each player is doing, if an animation is an attack and the others isnt a block, then play a hit animation and take away health.

Re: Fighting Game - 01/02/09 08:17

Thanks.

How do I make the characters move with each key press rather than just moving them after hitting it once? I don't seem to be able to find that in the workshop.

And how would I load different animations for each keypress (move, attack, jump, et cetera)? If something similar is in the workshops or a tutorial, could you point me to it?

Thanks again and forgive me for being so n00bish. :P
Posted By: lostclimate

Re: Fighting Game - 01/02/09 13:17

its fine, just look up the commands c_move, and the variables for key_1, key_2, etc.....

Re: Fighting Game - 01/02/09 19:58

Thanks, I found the c_move command in the workshop but it seems to only deal with 3D environments. Since I just want 2D movement what do I do?

I can get the object I want to move onto the level but when I do anything with the c_move commands it doesn't work right at all. I tried just copying the code from the workshop example (the ball game) and replacing the ball with what I wanted to move and it worked a little, however it just caused my object to go off the level and get stuck.