terrain and gravity

Posted By: draculaFactory

terrain and gravity - 01/04/08 19:26

I have been having this problem with terrain and gravity for a long time and I can't seem to figure out a way around it. When I use a gravity code, any gravity code, with an entity on terrain it seems to stick to parts of the train when moving across the surface. The result is my entity moving across the terrain and the movement is jerky in places.
Posted By: zwecklos

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/07/08 16:39

Hi there,
Have you tried to use my.polygon = on; on your terain model?
Are you using a chunked terrain or is it a big, single model?

cheers

zwecklos
Posted By: mpdeveloper_B

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/07/08 17:07

make sure that you use glide in your c_move functions
Posted By: draculaFactory

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/07/08 18:52

I am not using my.polygon = on, I use a symetrical bounding box, it basically looks like a rectangle. I am using a chunked terrain if by chunked you mean the system that is in the engine, not a user-made chunking system like terrain-sewing. I am also using glide in my c_move functions.
Posted By: draculaFactory

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/08/08 02:29

I must say though that this is very disheartening, I was planning on building a large open area with terrains and models but I guess I have to use old code to achieve a substandard result huh. This is a huge bottle neck for me.
Posted By: Joozey

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/08/08 13:09

Did you try switching my.polygon to on now?
There are many factors that could cause your player to get stuck, but we don't know enough of your terrains, models and scripts to tell you what might be the error.

We don't even know the 3dgs version you are using. There has been a bug report about models getting stuck on bumped areas on blocks (not models or terrains) but it could be related. If you start testing why, when and where it gets stuck, we and perhaps you too find the cause for it.
Posted By: draculaFactory

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/09/08 00:07

I'm using game studio 6.60, as far as the code is concerned, I don't think it matters because it is a problem with every type of gravity code that I have tried using c_move. As far as my.polygon is concerned, I turned it on and there didn't seem to be an effect one way or the other.
Posted By: xXxGuitar511

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/09/08 03:40

It must be in your movement code. I'm assuming that the terrain isn't too drastic?

If you want to post it, or send it to me, I can take a look into it for you...
Posted By: draculaFactory

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/09/08 06:42

Its actually odd because I have tested it with a completely flat terrain as well as a bumpy one with the same result. And I have tested it with a good movement code of my own design, a very simple one without any force calculations as well as template code. I'm not sending this to anyone actually because as far as I can tell, there are a lot of people here that are massive rip off artists. I have already had one project get flushed down the tubes due to the fact that I showed it to someone.
Posted By: xXxGuitar511

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/09/08 07:31

You don't have to worry about that with me; I have people that can support this. I've done alot of code for many people here. Life's become too busy to work on any projects now, so I just help other forum members with coding.

With the exception of networking and shadow mapping, I've done just about everything with 3DGS. Portals, Racing, FPS, RPG, environment, shaders, etc...


Just trying to help you out, if you don't want it, it's your call...
Posted By: Joozey

Re: terrain and gravity - 01/09/08 12:25

Jup, you can trust xXxGuitar511 . But if you want to be sure that your project is not being ripped, then send the testlevel you tested your script in. Plain empty new terrain with block model and the movement code of the buggy behaviour. (I assume you did it to be sure it's not the terrain or model).

You shouldn't send your whole project anyway, as that makes it often more difficult to debug. Strip it down till the very basics around the bug.
© 2024 lite-C Forums