real-time constructive solid geometry

Posted By: CItrok

real-time constructive solid geometry - 01/08/10 19:04

I am newbie. I need to build a small application to demonstrate real-time constructive solid geometry between two models. So, I want to subtract one basic model from another (boolean difference). Let's say I want to subtract a cylinder from a box to create a box with a cylindrical hole in it. The cylinder is moved by me in the game. IS this possible in lite-C enviroment?

In order to be more explicit concerning boolean subtraction see
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constructive_solid_geometry

Thank you guys.
Posted By: DR_Black

Re: real-time constructive solid geometry - 01/08/10 19:17

Another similar question asked in other thread and people argue around.

I think it is possible via shaders. I meat you can fake it using shaders .So instead of building real boolean difference you can use a shader to fake it.

I am not a shader expert so i cant go further.
Posted By: Foxfire

Re: real-time constructive solid geometry - 01/08/10 19:44

this can be done but is relatively complicated.

Also, doing this with primitives is different from models - heres how to do it with primitives, including rendering in GS:

first, you need a sort class to store data:
as you read on wikepedia, CSG can be represented by various primitives connected to each other via boolean arithmetic (+ or -).

so, in lite-c we don't have classes, but we can use variables instead.
so, for your example, we would store data for a cube and a cylinder and "link" them together (in C++ you could just make a shape class that has another Shape variable inside), lite-c you'll have to play around :\

when rendering, you have 2 choices - represent your geometry as polygons via dynamically created data, or render s-curves or dots/lines with d3d_draw.