Best Hardware for Game Creation

Posted By: WinterFresh

Best Hardware for Game Creation - 03/05/08 08:46

What is considered the best hardware for game creations? Currently I plan on using the following software to help make models, terrain, and all that other good stuff. Mind you that some of this software will not be used its just available for use.

-GameStudio A7
-3DS Max 8
-Vue 6
-ZBrush 3.1
-PhotoShop CS2

I am currently contemplating whether or not to buy a Lenovo IdeaPad Y510 Notebook PC with a Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2330 1.6GHz, 2Gigs of RAM and a Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100. I am not a hardware expert so I ask you does this fit under best hardware for game creation? And if not what changes need to be made?
Posted By: ventilator

Re: Best Hardware for Game Creation - 03/05/08 08:58

the intel graphics chip isn't ideal for this kind of work. better go with nvidia or ati.
Posted By: Arcaine

Re: Best Hardware for Game Creation - 03/05/08 11:16

I have an AMD Athlon X-2 4000+, 2GB Ram, Ati Radeon X1800XT Graphic

and sometimes 3dgs slows down my machine very nice ^^
Posted By: Frederick_Lim

Re: Best Hardware for Game Creation - 03/05/08 13:02

This is the 965 Express chipset in my Dell notebook, don't buy this kind of graphic chip for gaming.
Posted By: qwertzui

Re: Best Hardware for Game Creation - 03/05/08 14:00

many gb ram and a fastprossesor....
the graphic cart is on my 2th place...
my currently settings...
2gb ram ddr 2
intellpentium celeron d 3,06 ghz
and a ati radeon x13000 :X
ok.... not the best.... but enought for the most stuff!...
Posted By: broozar

Re: Best Hardware for Game Creation - 03/06/08 12:15

it's not advisable to use a notebook as a primary development platform. normally, development takes months or years, and you will want to adjust your hardware due to your new requirements. a notebook will never be able to do so.