Change skill name in WED

Posted By: upsidedownman

Change skill name in WED - 02/04/09 03:14

When i define a skill in a script is there anyway to get it to change in WED so i know what skill is what? It does it in templates so i am guessing it might be done through XML if so any know how i would go about doing this?

Thanks.
Posted By: GamerX

Re: Change skill name in WED - 02/04/09 03:21

look at comment tags in the manual
Posted By: upsidedownman

Re: Change skill name in WED - 02/04/09 03:50

But then you have to do it to every entity there has to be a way to just do it for all entities. Any1 know?
Posted By: Cowabanga

Re: Change skill name in WED - 02/04/09 05:45

You can't change skill name in WED. But you can change it by SED.

#define new_name old_name

new_name: The new name for the skill.
old_name: The current skill name.

Thanks to Jaxas for explain smile.
Posted By: Xarthor

Re: Change skill name in WED - 02/04/09 10:11

Originally Posted By: upsidedownman
But then you have to do it to every entity there has to be a way to just do it for all entities. Any1 know?


Wrong. You have to do it for every single action, not for every single entity.

And comment tags is what you are looking for.
Quick example:
Code:
#define health skill1

//uses: health
action my_hero()
{
  // blah blah
}


Now if you attach my_hero to some entity in WED you'll see in the skill list that skill1 is named "health".
Posted By: upsidedownman

Re: Change skill name in WED - 02/04/09 19:36

well thats what i meant i have tons of different actions and probably will have tons more to come this is just not an efficient way. Thanks though i guess i have to do it anyway.
© 2024 lite-C Forums