Gamestudio Links
Zorro Links
Newest Posts
AlpacaZorroPlugin v1.3.0 Released
by kzhao. 05/22/24 13:41
Free Live Data for Zorro with Paper Trading?
by AbrahamR. 05/18/24 13:28
Change chart colours
by 7th_zorro. 05/11/24 09:25
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
3 registered members (Akow, TipmyPip, tomaslolo), 788 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
AemStones, LucasJoshua, Baklazhan, Hanky27, firatv
19055 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
First Project - A Few Questions #142337
07/20/07 01:51
07/20/07 01:51
New England
D
DeKO_Mania Offline OP
DeKO_Mania  Offline OP
D

New England
Hello all, I am fairly new to the concepts of game design, and have a few questions about the best way to start out my first project. Of course it wont be anything too ambitious, but I would like to challenge myself and see how well I can do...

First of all, which genre is the easiest for a new developer to start designing? Also, conversly, which is the hardest? To give a little perspective, I am looking at "easiest" and "hardest" mostly from a coding standpoint.

Second, is it really better to lay down a paper trail before you dive in, or is it better to start designing, and work around ideas that arise?

Thank you to all in advance!

Regards,
DeKO_Mania

Re: First Project - A Few Questions [Re: DeKO_Mania] #142338
07/20/07 03:33
07/20/07 03:33
Queensland - Australia
Nidhogg Offline
Serious User
Nidhogg  Offline
Serious User

Queensland - Australia
First of I would go with the tutorials to give you a feel of things.

Most people start with first person shooter games as thier project.

The hardest in my opion would be role playing games.

Welcome and good luck.

Windows XP SP3
Intel Dual Core CPU: E5200 @ 2.5GHz
4.00GB DDR3 Ram
ASUS P5G41T-M LX
PCIE x16 GeForce GTS 450 1Gb
SB Audigy 4
Spyware Doctor with AntiVirus