Gamestudio Links
Zorro Links
Newest Posts
New FXCM FIX Plugin
by flink. 06/04/24 07:30
AlpacaZorroPlugin v1.3.0 Released
by kzhao. 05/22/24 13:41
Free Live Data for Zorro with Paper Trading?
by AbrahamR. 05/18/24 13:28
Change chart colours
by 7th_zorro. 05/11/24 09:25
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
3 registered members (Ayumi, Akow, AndrewAMD), 1,505 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
AemStones, LucasJoshua, Baklazhan, Hanky27, firatv
19058 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
3DS Max modeling #79661
06/27/06 13:11
06/27/06 13:11
Michigan
Qarl Offline OP
Qarl  Offline OP

Michigan
Hi Gang! I'm very new to GS but I managed to download the free MDL exporter for Max and successfully exported a number of models and they work fine in the game engine. But I'd like to know what the limitations are and how to do certain things.

For instance, in the models I made, I used the Blinn Shader. What other shaders will the game engine allow? Phong? etc. Can I do bump mapping? Reflection mapping? Specular mapping? Glow mapping?

How DO I make glowing lightbulb for instance? Do I just use a glow map? And how would I make say, and animated neon sign which continuously flashes, "Eat At Joes" with the letter "A" burned out? How do I make new particle effects?

Is there some documentation somewhere for this specifically geared toward Max users? I'd rather not have to mess with that MED thing if I don't have to.

Re: 3DS Max modeling [Re: Qarl] #79662
06/28/06 14:26
06/28/06 14:26
Essen, Germany
L
Lwiet10052 Offline
Lwiet10052  Offline
L

Essen, Germany
It's not possible to export any materialproperties from Max to GS.
You can only export the texture in the diffuse slot.
Shaders in Max (Blinn, Phong ect.) have nothing to do with DirectX-Shaders used in GS.
Take a look at the WIKI:
http://www.coniserver.net/wiki/index.php/Shaders