Using Newton

Posted By: Ingmar

Using Newton - 05/18/07 19:08

Hi,

I downloaded Newton from a link that someone on the forum had given me, but could someone tell me how to use this physics program in my game level? I studied some example levels in the Newton folder, but I didn't get much wiser..

Regards,
Ingmar
Posted By: RedPhoenix

Re: Using Newton - 05/19/07 09:15

Did you read the documentation for Newton (in the doc folder of the newtonexamples)?

And which version of Newton do you have (look on the splasscreen)?

By the way: I remember about 4 threads that dealt with implementing Newton in the past 8 weeks.

Re: Using Newton - 05/19/07 09:56

Quote:

Did you read the documentation for Newton (in the doc folder of the newtonexamples)?

And which version of Newton do you have (look on the splasscreen)?

By the way: I remember about 4 threads that dealt with implementing Newton in the past 8 weeks.

I read the documentation, but it didn't work after:
"Copy the files "newton.dll" and "newtonsplash.tga" from Gamestudio\template folder to the level folder."

It's version 1.0? That's what the splashscreen says..
Posted By: RedPhoenix

Re: Using Newton - 05/19/07 16:59

Ok let's see: (By the way: Which version of 3DGS do yozu have?)

1: You have a project folder. To this folder you copy the newton.wdl, the newtonscript2.wdl, and the newtonsplash.tga.

2: Search in your 3DGS directory. there is a folder named acknex_plugins. If it's not there you don't have the latest version of 3DGS but that's no problem, just tell me then.
To this one (if you have it) you copy the newton.dll

3: If you already have a level open the mainscript of it. If not create a new one and create a basis script for it.

4: Over your mainfunction you put in those lines:
include <newton.wdl>;
include <newtonscript2.wdl>;

string level_str = <levelname.wmb>; //don't write it twice if it's already in your script!!!

ifdef USE_NEWTON_GAME_DYNAMICS;