Arbitrary resolution but in fullscreen trick?

Posted By: PHeMoX

Arbitrary resolution but in fullscreen trick? - 09/07/07 11:40

Hi there,

I'm currently making a game in a 256x256 resolution, but the moment I'm going fullscreen it reverts back to a 640x480 resolution. I had expected this to happen since my hardware (or no hardware for that matter?) doesn't support a fullscreen 256x256 resolution.

I'm wondering what I could do to achieve the same effect as íf I had a 256x256 resolution in fullscreen. In other words, how do I stretch a camera view in such a way that it 'becomes' 256x256 (in all it's pixely glory), but for example within a 640x480 resolution window or so? (with some black bars perhaps because of the aspect ratio) Are there any simple methods I can use for this to accomplish with 3dgs?

Cheers
Posted By: jcl

Re: Arbitrary resolution but in fullscreen trick? - 09/07/07 12:29

I don't think that a hardware exists that supports a 256x256 fullscreen resolution.

What you could do is opening a 256x256 window, remove its border and stretch it all over the screen. That would look like 256x256 fullscreen.
Posted By: PHeMoX

Re: Arbitrary resolution but in fullscreen trick? - 09/07/07 15:59

Thanks, I've been able to rescale the window like you've said and this windowed-fullscreen is working fine.

Is there a way to do this resizing automatically? Currently I'm using the Windows XP "resize screen", that's if you right-click on the window of the program that's running, just like you've explained... but it would be awesome if it would stretch out and resize to 1024x768 or so automatically. Would such a thing be possible with A6 pro?

Cheers
Posted By: lostclimate

Re: Arbitrary resolution but in fullscreen trick? - 09/07/07 17:14

maybe using a second 256 view, and rendering it to a quad, you'd have to make sure it pixelates tho and not blurs
Posted By: PHeMoX

Re: Arbitrary resolution but in fullscreen trick? - 09/07/07 17:38

Thanks for your suggestion, but the problem was solved ..

This seems to work fine:
Code:
 video_set(256,256,32,2); video_window(vector(0,0,0),vector(1024,768,0),1,NULL);



It's not yet centered in the middle of the screen, but I can use the first vector for that.

Cheers
© 2024 lite-C Forums