Multiple skins, change-able ingame?

Posted By: Prooi

Multiple skins, change-able ingame? - 01/13/08 19:50

Hi everyone, I'm new to Gamestudio and started out with the free MED and Lite-C to see what i can do with it, now i bumped on the following problem:

How can someone (if possible) change textures ingame & does the model needs to be "prepared" for it

example:

I have a simple human, textured and all (with multiple textures).

Made a texture for:

1 the hands
2 Sleeves & torso
3 pants
4 boots

Is it possible to change 1 of these textures if certain conditions are met?

like when you equip gloves only the hand texture would change
or when you equip a vest that the sleeves & torso texture would change?

Is this possible? and if so, does anyone know a tutorial?

Thanks for reading
Posted By: Quad

Re: Multiple skins, change-able ingame? - 01/14/08 11:38

i dont know if it works just for a spesific group of model but you can change the skin by

my.skin=2; or something but i think this will change the skin of whole model.

You may try making hands,torso etc. spare models but its harder to bring things together and keep them there. And it doesnt look good.

i wonder this too if its possible to change only a group's skin not the whole model.?

(maybe my.group1.skin ? i dont think so but..)

Re: Multiple skins, change-able ingame? - 01/14/08 13:56

it certainly would help improve framerate for RPG games, with loads of equipment
Posted By: Nidhogg

Re: Multiple skins, change-able ingame? - 01/14/08 14:41

I think the only way possible would be to create a different full
skin with the change of the clothing you want.
eg: skin0 - would be the original skin
skin1 - would be skin0 with the modification
skin2 - would be skin0 with next modification
and so on and so on until you've got all the skins you need.

In your code you'd have something like

In cscript
Code:
  if (event == switch1) {my.skin = 2;} //Change to skin1

I think that's right but check it anyways...