Metal textures

Posted By: EpsiloN

Metal textures - 10/31/06 23:50

I'm new to texturing and I have no more than 20 attempts , thats 4 of them. Tell me what you think

In those pictures only the box...

Posted By: Trooper119

Re: Metal textures - 11/01/06 03:14

For one of your first attempts this is spectacular, simply add something like a height map and a shader for lighting and you could pass the level (with textures you've created) as pretty pro work. Congrats, and keep up the good work.
Posted By: Excessus

Re: Metal textures - 11/01/06 06:38

They're a bit too clean, but I'm sure they'll look good with a normalmap applied and some specular light.
Posted By: Machinery_Frank

Re: Metal textures - 11/01/06 07:51

I see clearly the filters for rendered clouds, noise and sometimes a bit motion blur. You could apply such effects more subtle to generate more realism.

The scratches seem to be painted, copied, off-seted and multiplied / overlayed. But they need a bit variation. You could soften the ends, erase some parts. Use different thicknesses to add variation.

Re: Metal textures - 11/01/06 11:47

Quote:

simply add something like a height map and a shader for lighting and you could pass the level (with textures you've created)

I dont know how to do that I tryed btw , but maby I'll look into it deeper soon...
Quote:

I see clearly the filters for rendered clouds, noise and sometimes a bit motion blur. You could apply such effects more subtle to generate more realism.

I havent used motion blur I dont like it because it produces strange lines at the ends of the texture
Quote:

They're a bit too clean

And I tryed to make it more dirty at the ends of every segment of the textures like a wear effect , scratched and shiny in time done by humans...but it didnt looked good. I still have to learn that one
Quote: