Bump_Mapping

Posted By: GS_Raphael

Bump_Mapping - 12/02/06 15:57

at first i have to say sorry for me spamming this forum with my thousands of problems relating to a6 (i was working with a5 all the time - mybe im a little bit conversative)

my problem is that im not a programmer and that im not going to learn c-script as well (because modelling and texturing levels and objects needs a lot of time!!) but i want to know how i could paint bumpmaps and apply them to my models. yes. i know how to apply simple materials (now ) and know how to paint greyscale relief maps - im no rookie in grafical topics but i want to know how this effects work in a6 and what type of effects i am able to use with my (old) ti 4200 . i tried several codes from acknex unlimited but everyone caused several blablaing-errors when starting a6 ... so it would be very nice if someone would help (and maybe send me a working code).

Re: Bump_Mapping - 12/02/06 21:49

i would also like to kn ow how to apply specular maps (greyscale images that control the power of the specular-effect per pixel) if this is possible with ti4200
Posted By: EX Citer

Re: Bump_Mapping - 12/03/06 17:41

Hey, sorry I didnīt replied your PM yet. But I am busy as hell.

I never used templates. I am not sure if itīs easiely possible to use bumpmapping with them.

I must say I am impressed about the noob questions, because of the awesome work I have seen from you. I hope you take my stupid comment like a MAN!

Check the web about your graphic card if it supports pixelshader 2 and vertexshader 2 (ps 2, vs2). Most working normalmapping shaders with specularity use this level as far as I know.

Check your shader how he reads the Bitmaps. Skin1 Colormap, Skin2 Normalmap(or Greyscalemap) alpha channel of skin 1 (or maybe 2(?)) specularity.