Newbie Question

Posted By: Claus_N

Newbie Question - 05/10/07 16:55

Hi,

Is it possible to create a refraction shader like this one, using Commercial edition, and without using a plugin?
http://www.coniserver.net/ubbthreads/sho...;fpart=1#473746

Sorry if it is a stupid question... I am quite new at shaders
Posted By: Scorpion

Re: Newbie Question - 05/10/07 17:03

no, cos u need the pro-feature render to texture

Re: Newbie Question - 05/10/07 17:07

Okay, too bad :/

Thanks for the fast reply
Posted By: Matt_Aufderheide

Re: Newbie Question - 05/10/07 18:33

I'm making a new plugin that will allow this however

Re: Newbie Question - 05/10/07 18:45

Sounds nice
Posted By: Raymaker

Re: Newbie Question - 05/11/07 11:29

Hey Matt how would you make it for a6(are you using C+++++++ or what ?)
Or is it just very advanced shader that can be built within the fx file that you sure wont tell us about xD because it's your way to earn money

thax in advance

ps. how can i have 5 stars on the rating an you have only 3 but i'm nowhere close to you.
Posted By: Joey

Re: Newbie Question - 05/11/07 11:50

you were rated only once, matt 116 times. shaders can't "view" into the game world, i think he is speaking about sphere, a plugin he writes to overcome the "render to texture"-pro-only feature limitation. but he's replacing the inbuilt renderer - i'm not sure here - which makes not much sense imo...

(don't get me wrong, it's probably the best solution for what you're doing).

Re: Newbie Question - 05/12/07 04:33

Quote:

shaders can't "view" into the game world, i think he is speaking about sphere, a plugin he writes to overcome the "render to texture"-pro-only feature limitation. but he's replacing the inbuilt renderer - i'm not sure here - which makes not much sense imo...

I'm talking about a new plugin, not Sphere, that does screen effects like diffraction, HDR, bloom, depthf of field.. etc..