transition model on the screen

Posted By: 3run

transition model on the screen - 06/17/10 03:49

How can I make model transit from one end of the screen to an other? Like on this picture:

I've asked for this before, but didn't get any good ideas... I don't want to create same model with same size and so on... I need one same model to move from one side of the screen to an other... There are allot of old games doing transits, but without copying models, panels etc. I think the same way can be created portals... You can see the same effect here, in game VVVVVV. Thank you.
Posted By: MasterQ32

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/17/10 09:10

you can try it with vec_for_screen / vec_to_screen
check, if the model is moving out at top, set the position to the bottom.
the same with left and right
i think you don't need two models because the player will expect the model at the other side an will not recognize that the model is switched in one frame.
Posted By: 3run

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/17/10 15:42

But will model transit smoothly? For example, when only half of the model is out of the screen, then only half of it must appear on the other side, like on the picture made by me.
Posted By: Rei_Ayanami

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/17/10 16:05

For that you NEED 2 models.
Posted By: 3run

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/17/10 16:10

Damn! What you mean two models?! Old good snake game, do they use two snake models(or if snake goes few time between screens, how many models will I need then)?
Posted By: Helghast

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 08:23

you can try it with a shader, i believe there is some shader that clips meshes...
maybe that can be adjusted to your use. laugh
Posted By: keilyn3d

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 10:36

I made an image to explain you an idea. (the ball in the left is the real)
(image in real size)
you need to make a function that when the ball is in the right the camera1 make invisible and the camera2 visible and vice versa.

when the ball is completely outside, change de pos of the ball to the other side and make invisible the view that is over the ball.

tell me if you understand me, I have the idea clear in my mind.
Posted By: bart_the_13th

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 11:43

Use bmap_blit for that : http://www.conitec.net/beta/bmap_blit.htm
Blit the left portion of the bmap to the right edge of the panel and blit the rest portion to the left edge of the same panel.
Posted By: Widi

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 11:44

bmap_blit don`t work with models wink
Posted By: bart_the_13th

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 11:54

grin He gave 2D example game... Cant think of any more way to accomplish that without using copied model though...
Posted By: keilyn3d

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 13:34

Originally Posted By: bart_the_13th
grin He gave 2D example game... Cant think of any more way to accomplish that without using copied model though...


what is that is wrong in the idea that I propose?
I see it very easy and not need to clone the model and work in 3d.

the explanation is confusing ?
Posted By: keilyn3d

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 15:01

ok, I made a sample with the code that I have explained

a screen shot:


download the sample and the source code here

it method don't copy the model, is only a view entity that show the model in the other side.
Posted By: mikaldinho

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/18/10 18:20

Originally Posted By: Rei_Ayanami
For that you NEED 2 models.


it would use a screen wrap wouldn't it??
Posted By: 3run

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/19/10 05:32

keilyn3d thank you, I just did some test, here are results:

download link

I don't know, may be it need some optimization, but looks like it doesn't work proper now.
Posted By: 3run

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/26/10 01:06

keilyn3d, any ideas how to improve your example?
Posted By: keilyn3d

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/26/10 02:51

oh, sorry grin , I had the file improved few days ago.

here is the file:
http://keilyn3d.com/samples/1.zip
Posted By: 3run

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/26/10 07:08

There is still some bugs frown

you can see this bag in action, picture has a bad quality.
Posted By: keilyn3d

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/26/10 13:05

well... I have no idea how to repair it, maybe changing the texture can help. frown

If you have some idea, tell me to implement it. Anyway I'll keep thinking. I'll post today if I have an idea
Posted By: 3run

Re: transition model on the screen - 06/27/10 00:45

I'll laugh thank you for helping me.
© 2024 lite-C Forums