The answer to life, the universe and unity3d

Posted By: WretchedSid

The answer to life, the universe and unity3d - 08/05/13 22:41

So, Gamestudio is dead and Unity3D sucks... The state of game engines that are powerful and easy to use is bleak, to say the least. But, not all hope is lost, so put your funeral suits away, and dress for rain.

Slin and I have been working on an 3d game engine for the past 8 months, and now the time has come to unveil our baby to the public. Say hello to Rayne. I'll spare you the marketing bullshit, here are the facts you need to know:

• Cross platform, Windows, Linux Mac, iOS and Android goodness
  • One license to rule them all. No pro version bullshit, no royalties.
  • Pay what you want
  • OpenGL 3.2 and OpenGL ES 2.0 based (geometry shaders, motherfuckers)
  • Tile based forward renderer
  • Support for (lots of!) dynamic lights
  • C++11 based, with AngelScript bindings
  • Sleek asset pipeline
  • GPU bone animations
  • Multithreaded as fuck

Want to know more? We wrote an introductory blog post, and we also have a website: rayne3d.com.

Here is how it looks like:

We either go big, or we go home.
Posted By: Superku

Re: The answer to life, the universe and unity3d - 08/05/13 22:51

It's so... beautiful!
Posted By: Nems

Re: The answer to life, the universe and unity3d - 08/06/13 01:44

Impressive and quite the suprise...I'm mindfull of another user who did similar but not sure how thats going....3DGamemaker or something like that.....

But...Have you heard of Skyline?

Another indie offering still in beta but stunning...as others were too in previous attempts...

All the best and hope to try it out one day....
Posted By: sivan

Re: The answer to life, the universe and unity3d - 08/06/13 09:20

nice concept, great features, and a cool little homepage written in a lovely style grin
I hope Bullet 3 is really coming soon to get more power, and nobody will miss Nvidia PhysX from the engine...