Strange values using float or double for array

Posted By: Newbie999

Strange values using float or double for array - 05/28/08 03:32

Another newbie here,

When I declare an array as "var" I can display its contents properly. However, when I declare it as "float" or "double", I get really strange values displayed. I thought using float or double would simply store better precision. Is there more to it than that?

// sample code below displays a strange value of -1056768 instead of -1.

float direction[3] = {0,-1,0};

PANEL* pDisplay =
{
digits (10, 60, "direction[1] = %0.f", *, 1, direction[1]);

flags = VISIBLE;
}
Posted By: JibbSmart

Re: Strange values using float or double for array - 05/28/08 05:13

panels can't deal with doubles or floats; they need vars. you probably could typecast it:
Code:
digits (10, 60, "direction[1] = %0.f", *, 1, (var)direction[1]);

but that's just a guess.

julz

Re: Strange values using float or double for array - 05/30/08 01:12

Thanks for explaining about digits. However, there is still something mysterious going on even when I am not displaying the digits.

Running the following code will produce a red dot slightly above the center of the screen. By simply redefining the "myvector" variable from var to double, the dot will be displayed in a different location. By changing it to float, the dot is moved completely off the screen. Why would the location of the dot move by simply changing the precision of the variable??

////////

#include <acknex.h>
#include <default.c>

var myvector[3] = {0,-1,50};

function main()
{
level_load("small.hmp");
while(1)
{
draw_point3d(myvector,vector(0,0,255),100,5);
wait(1);
}

}
Posted By: zazang

Re: Strange values using float or double for array - 05/30/08 02:04

maybe u need to typecast myvector to var here too..
Posted By: Excessus

Re: Strange values using float or double for array - 05/30/08 14:40