How to combine several meshes?

Posted By: Alessandro

How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 09:41

Hello,

I need to create A LOT of meshes, and I need a way to combine them in order to reduce draw-calls.
Is there any built-in way to achieve this in 3DGS?

Thank you for your help!
Posted By: ratchet

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 10:29

More precision please !
It is meshes for main level , characters, 3D assets ?

The best way that could suit you , make one mesh of all under your mdeling application and export as one mesh for 3DGS !
Posted By: Alessandro

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 11:10

I create models ENTITY (3d models) at runtime, so I cannot merge them in 3D modelers.
I can group meshes (small meshes, 16 or 32 units as bounding box per side) as "sectors" (meshes near to each other, located in the same area).
It is static geometry.


EDIT: they are rocks in low-poly.
Posted By: ratchet

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 11:37

Have you a screenshot ?
Why the need for creation at runtime ?
I think you can find other solutions by seraching a walkaround !
Posted By: Alessandro

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 11:43

No, I need to create an environment at runtime. Absolutely.
My game is enterely procedurally generated.
Want an example? Well, check out the game I already made using Unity3d at:

http://www.massivecreek.com/home/

http://www.massivecreek.com/home/?page_id=231

I need to make the second chapter (another adventure, more complex).
So I was checking 3DGS features to make a game like this.

Thank you.
Posted By: ratchet

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 12:10

It looks like some Minecraft similar game using cubes.
There is already a 3DGS thread talking about that sort of cubic world :
Cube framework

There are people using Ogre3D , Jmonkey engine that uses their own code for "Minecraft" like.
Posted By: Alessandro

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 12:14

Originally Posted By: ratchet
It looks like some Minecraft similar game using cubes.
There is already a 3DGS thread talking about that sort of cubic world :
Cube framework

There are people using Ogre3D , Jmonkey engine that uses their own code for "Minecraft" like.



Yes I know what you said. But my question is still the same: is there any way to combine small meshes to decrease the number of draw-calls?
Unity3D, for example, uses 2 methods: dynamic batching (automatically performed by the engine at runtime), and static batching (PRO version only :'( )

JME 3 (I know that engine) uses a geometry optimizer (even if I got not good results with it). But JME uses scenegraph, very useful in games like this.
Posted By: ratchet

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 13:44

Well i'm not sure A8 can do that.
Or you'll have to code a DLL for it yourself ?
Even more i don't know if batching in real time will not slow the game ?

I'm not strong programmer at all laugh

You should post your question in "Engine" thread, you'll have perhaps some answers ?
Why not reading the manual also , all is in it about the engine.
Posted By: Alessandro

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 13:54

Originally Posted By: ratchet
Well i'm not sure A8 can do that.
Or you'll have to code a DLL for it yourself ?


I hope there is a c-script to do that.

Originally Posted By: ratchet
You should post your question in "Engine" thread, you'll have perhaps some answers ?


Ok, I do it. But is it a good idea duplicating the thread? Can JCL move this thread instead?

Originally Posted By: ratchet
Why not reading the manual also , all is in it about the engine.


Done. There is nothing.
Posted By: xxxxxxx

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 14:15

look here(i don't follow this thred so i cant say that it is working now, or not): http://www.opserver.de/ubb7/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=355335#Post355335
maybe you can "copy" your old mesh an add the new to it, u have just merge the vertices(so that you havn't two vertices at one point) and remove the sensless polys. i cant give you an example, sorry. and i don't know how fast it is.
xxxxxxx
Posted By: ratchet

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 14:28

I dind't mean duplicating the thread !
I meaned : post your question in this existing part of the forum relatde to the engine :

Engine thread
Posted By: JibbSmart

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 14:47

Originally Posted By: ratchet
I dind't mean duplicating the thread !
I meaned : post your question in this existing part of the forum relatde to the engine :

Engine thread
That's exactly what he meant -- asking the same question in a different forum is usually frowned upon, hence his question.

I think you can request it be moved and notify a moderator (there should be a button somewhere to do that).

Jibb
Posted By: Alessandro

Re: How to combine several meshes? - 05/20/11 15:01

Ok, thank you, I will search that button :-)

I red the thread related to create new mesh using DX, but it is a mess (I'm not an expert in DX low-level programming).

Thank you.
© 2024 lite-C Forums