Please, help with Fractal indicator.

Posted By: Maruska

Please, help with Fractal indicator. - 01/07/13 11:39

I'm a c++ programmer but I have some difficults to understand indicators relations with MT4 equivalents.
For example in MT4 I can calculate the last high fractal with this function:

UpFractal = iFractals(Symbol(), tf, MODE_UPPER, 3);

in zorro the function is:

FractalHigh(var* Data, int TimePeriod)

I have tried this:

UpFractal = FractalHigh(series(price()),5)

but I don't understand the correlation with the two functions; in the FractalHigh function what TimePeriod means?

Thanks in advance and
congratulations with the excellent work with zorro.
Posted By: jcl

Re: Please, help with Fractal indicator. - 01/07/13 11:45

I am not sure if iFractals is really the Fractal indicator, as MT4 often calculates indicators differently. The Fractal indicator needs a time period, which is just the number of bars from which the fractal is taken. The fact that this is missing in the MT4 version is suspicious. So please check what iFractals is doing at all and which time period it uses.

The "3" shift parameter in the iFractal example is the same as adding a "+2" to a series, like this:

UpFractal = FractalHigh(series(price())+2,5);

The source code of FractalHigh can be found in the indicators.c file.

Re: Please, help with Fractal indicator. - 01/07/13 12:08

Thanks for the fast reply, but my doubts remain.

I wrote a script like this for just to print out last up or down fractal:

function run()
{
BarPeriod = 5;

printf("\nUP = %.5f - DW = %.5f", FractalHigh(series(price())+2,5), FractalLow(series(price())+2,5));
}

but it is not working.

What is the correct way in zorro to get the last up or down fractal?

Re: Please, help with Fractal indicator. - 01/07/13 12:12

Your script looks correct to me.

I would use priceHigh for FractalHigh and priceLow for FractalLow, though. Shifting the Fractal by 2 bars probably also makes not much sense for signal generation.