Trading Z3 with Ally Invest

Posted By: cwford

Trading Z3 with Ally Invest - 03/20/20 16:07

Zorro newbie here. I live in the U.S. and wish to trade Z3 with an Ally Invest account. I have:

1. Obtained an Ally Invent account
2. Deposited funds into my Ally account
3. Downloaded and installed the Ally Invest plug-in (thanks to AndrewAMD)
4. Downloaded historical data
5. Run a TEST of Zorro/Z3 on my local machine. It works!
6. Created a VM in Azure
7. Installed Zorro with historical data on the VM
8. Run a TEST of Zorro/Z3 on the Azure VM. It works!

Now, I would actually like to start live trading from my Azure VM. I would like to trade EUR/USD but I am confused about the following:

1. What should my Z/.ini file look like? Do I need to make any modifications? Does anyone have a sample .ini file I could see?
2. What should my asset list file look like? Do I need to make any modifications? Does anyone have a sample .csv asset file I could see?
3. Just to test out Z3 trading, can I start with a capital allocation of $1000.00, or is that too little?

Thank you in advance for the courtesy of reading this post, and for any answers.

Clyde W. Ford
Posted By: AndrewAMD

Re: Trading Z3 with Ally Invest - 03/20/20 16:23

Ally only trades stocks, ETFs, and stock options. The Z3 system was designed to trade forex and CFD's - Ally has neither of these. You would need an all-original asset list with all-original historical data.

Also, it is not legal for USA residents to trade CFD's.

Re: Trading Z3 with Ally Invest - 03/20/20 16:30

One more thing - when I wrote the plugin, it was originally for TradeKing's API. Then Ally bought TradeKing and kept the API open, but then Ally took on an anti-algorithmic-trader stance. They want to charge you $200+ per month for using their live market data per the demands of their data vendor, even if you're an indie trader.