by dr_panther. 05/06/24 18:50
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
3 registered members (AndrewAMD, dr_panther, 1 invisible), 1,092 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Hanky27, firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious
19051 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Possibility of 3DGS Mac Port #161483
10/17/07 02:01
10/17/07 02:01
Philippines
Rush Offline OP
Rush  Offline OP

Philippines
Greetings everyone!

I've been using 3DGS for almost 2 years now. It helped me out with my undergrad Thesis and did a job well done. I have no question in mind that 3DGS will have to be the ONLY (if not the best) real Game Authoring Tool in the market today.

I recently got hired on an entertainment company and we plan on developing some game. My boss (sadly) specified that we choose a multiplatform engine. That's the reason why I had to leave my beloved 3DGS for the moment and start the whole learning process with what will have to be the most feasible of the options left... Torque. I ran into other great engines too but all seem to have something missing (C4's lack of scripting, Unity's lack of Windows IDE, Unreal and Cry's price tag) that is why I ended up with Torque. I have to admit that Torque is really powerfull specially with the great terrain engine. However it is really hard to use (even the scripting language) and I really am missing the fun and level of control 3DGS provided.

But, I had to go on anyways. I am currently on the process of learning TorqueScript (a bit tough BTW). But I have no intention of permanently leaving 3DGS at all. One question though:

How possible Conitec port 3DGS over to Mac or other OSes like Linux?

While some may argue that 3DGS is a bit lacking on features like graphics, terrain, etc, IMHO, this (not being multiplatform) will have to be 3DGS's ONLY real weakness.