by degenerate_762. 04/30/24 23:23
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (AndrewAMD, 1 invisible), 1,086 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR
19050 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Good looking / high fps / Plains terrain #176237
01/03/08 18:04
01/03/08 18:04
Québec
Marky Mark Offline OP
User
Marky Mark  Offline OP
User

Québec
Hey everyone

I'm developping a storm chasing game for about 2 years now, and I'd like to reproduce the U.S. great plains environment. I never worked on the graphics of the game since now, so here is how my game looks like (I know, Eeewww)

Streets are blocks, and terrain is basic and ugly...
IMAGE1
IMAGE2

And..

I would like to make it look more like this (Grass, plains, and you can see the street):

So, I'm a real newbie with terrains and "good-looking" stuff, so what would be the steps of making it look great? I mean, I've seen some wonderful graphics here, very impressing, so I know it's possible...

Thanks!

Yeah! IE sucks, use Mozilla...
Marc Rémillard.
Re: Good looking / high fps / Plains terrain [Re: Marky Mark] #176238
01/03/08 18:16
01/03/08 18:16
Netherlands
cartoon_baboon Offline
User
cartoon_baboon  Offline
User

Netherlands
Hi,
well there are a few things I see in those two shots that I'd improve:
- the grass texture is very blurry at the moment why not use detail maps (or multitexture but that'd probably impact the framerate more than you want it to do...)
- There seems to be no height difference between the road and the fields, if you look at the photo's you can see ditches at the edge of the fields or the fields are somewhat higher than the road.