by dr_panther. 05/06/24 18:50
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (AndrewAMD, degenerate_762), 1,309 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Hanky27, firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious
19051 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Shader Library - Why we need one now #21014
12/11/03 11:48
12/11/03 11:48
SingleCell Offline OP
SingleCell  Offline OP

Shaders... Seems to be like sex when i was at school, everyone talking about it, no one doing it.

Ive tried to make some simple shader effects and have got nowhere fast, the documentation is hidiously complex (as is the subject matter) and best left to those programmers who understand it. Me, im an artist who dabbles in programming, so all i want is something i can use in my application without fuss, and i need to know what cards it will run with. And im guessing that im not alone here.

Looking at most of the shader sites on the net, there is a common theme - that is, that shaders are for coders. You can tell this by descriptions such as "Modulates the fresnel term using a rotational matrix of a Dot-3 product calculated from the inverse vertex matrix. requires PS_7" Cool... but what does it look like? And will it work on a GF2 class card? (Dont get me wrong, im not bagging coders here, its just they see the world differently - mine understands this stuff and looks at me like im a complete idiot when i ask her what it all means...)

But, from an artistic point of view, what i, and im guessing others, want is "This shader makes surface look like they are shiny, with a gold tint and small bumps. Uses 2 passes and works with GF3 class cards or better."