by jcl. 04/26/24 11:18
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
4 registered members (7th_zorro, Ayumi, AndrewAMD, Quad), 1,014 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR
19050 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Very confused... need advice... #266388
05/17/09 20:48
05/17/09 20:48
Chicago
J
Jaeger Offline OP
Jaeger  Offline OP
J

Chicago
I could really use some advice from some experienced users. I apologize for the long post, but I hope giving a more detailed explanation/questions will help me find better answers. Let me start by telling you what I'm trying to accomplish, and what problems I'm having/what I don't understand.

For starters, I'm working in Lite-C, and I'm new to this language and 3DGS. However, I've got limited experience with application programming in C++, but never any 3D worlds/games. I've read the manuals and Lite-C tutorials till I'm blue in the face, several times. laugh

What I'm trying to do is start a coding template for vehicle movement by physics for a big project my team and I are undertaking. Right now I'm trying to get a Panzer IV (tank) moving around like a tank should. This is really a testing project, and when it's done, I'm going to "splice" or cut/copy bits of code out of it to use in the real game/sim.

So, here's my first problem, which should be fairly simple:

I want the "e" key to crank the engine when pressed once, and shut down the engine when pressed a second time. Of course, it should start looping the sound of a running engine. I tried doing this is several ways, none of which worked properly. Some ways would start the engine sound loop, but it wouldn't stop. Other ways did nothing. And some even crashed the program or made my camera unlock from the tank. Here's an example:

Code:
var engine_state = 0;