by dr_panther. 05/06/24 18:50
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (AndrewAMD), 1,089 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Hanky27, firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious
19051 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Iridium Game Engine #313372
03/01/10 01:16
03/01/10 01:16
TEXCOORD3
Foxfire Offline OP
Foxfire  Offline OP

TEXCOORD3
hey,
Sorry for the lack of news and progress.
In the months past, I have assembled a small group of veteran programmers to assist me in creating the Iridium Engine. As I am still a student - most of the progress will be made over the Summer and you can expect the final product by the Fall.

Unfortunately, during our testing of the engine, we realized that many elements of Gamestudio's rendering engine were slowing down our own "plugin" engine. The amount of performance lost was unacceptable.

In addition, many features that we aimed for, such as "ground-breaking Ambient Occlusion," advanced animation techniques, and displacment mapping (and more of course) were not only hard to implement on GS but impossible.

With a lot of thought and discussion, we have decided to completely scrap the idea of a Gamestudio plug-in and write our own engine. Fortunately, we have the dedication, experience, and capital to do so.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Iridium will now be an independent gaming engine using Microsoft's DirectX11 graphics API as well as OpenGL 3.2
Iridium will be programmed mainly in C++ with additional hlsl, glsl, assembly, and scripting language elements.

Iridium will also be platform independent, utilizing dx11 and OGL 3.2

Iridium will support older hardware (8000GT series or higher)
and have compatibility with DirectX9 and older versions of openGL.