by jcl. 04/26/24 11:09
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (blaurock), 750 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR, 11honza11
19049 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Connect to SQL Database? #325447
05/26/10 17:34
05/26/10 17:34
Pennsylvania
L
Laurentius Offline OP
Laurentius  Offline OP
L

Pennsylvania
Hello everyone.

I admit that I am very new to 3dgs and am building my first application. I have extensive SQL programming experience (MSSQL) and was wondering...

1) can lite-c and A7 manage all of the data needing to be saved by a character (i.e. rpg player inventory, skills, preferences) or should I connect to a database application?

2) if a database appplication is the answer, while I prefer Microsoft SQL Server, what are my database alternatives? I believe I would need a full functioning db.

3) and, where can I find drivers, connection string formats, etc identifying how to connect to the database from lite-c?

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Re: Connect to SQL Database? [Re: Laurentius] #385038
10/11/11 22:47
10/11/11 22:47
Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
E
Eyesgood Offline
Eyesgood  Offline
E

Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
I too am looking for the answers to these old questions. Does anybody know?

Re: Connect to SQL Database? [Re: Eyesgood] #385053
10/12/11 06:55
10/12/11 06:55
Ä°stanbul, Turkey
Quad Offline
Senior Expert
Quad  Offline
Senior Expert

Ä°stanbul, Turkey
1) You can save all these in your self file-format or you can use sql,xml etc.
Point here is if your game is an online game or a single player game. For a single player game saving data on a remote server is not really a good solution, nor running a server on user's machine.