by jcl. 04/26/24 11:08
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (SBGuy, Quad), 768 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR, 11honza11
19049 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: Unity iOS/Android basic editions for free (until 8th April) [Re: Toast] #396814
03/10/12 22:35
03/10/12 22:35
Canada
WretchedSid Offline
Expert
WretchedSid  Offline
Expert

Canada
@Alpha, don't mix up language and API, they are two very different pairs of shoes!

Shitlord by trade and passion. Graphics programmer at Laminar Research.
I write blog posts at feresignum.com
Re: Unity iOS/Android basic editions for free (until 8th April) [Re: WretchedSid] #396816
03/10/12 22:56
03/10/12 22:56
ventilator Offline
Senior Expert
ventilator  Offline
Senior Expert

yes! the gamestudio api is easy. i wouldn't really call lite-c easy. certainly not easier than the unity languages.

there are many nasty traps for beginners. it also is no modern language. no automatic memory management, no standard library with nice high level data structures, no useable debugger,...

Re: Unity iOS/Android basic editions for free (until 8th April) [Re: ventilator] #396819
03/11/12 00:38
03/11/12 00:38
WA, Australia
J
JibbSmart Offline
Expert
JibbSmart  Offline
Expert
J

WA, Australia
Quote:
no automatic memory management
I still consider this a plus.

Formerly known as JulzMighty.
I made KarBOOM!
Re: Unity iOS/Android basic editions for free (until 8th April) [Re: JibbSmart] #396822
03/11/12 01:04
03/11/12 01:04
ventilator Offline
Senior Expert
ventilator  Offline
Senior Expert

lite-c isn't really meant for writing operating system kernels or render engine cores or low level stuff like that. for gameplay code managed languages are much more productive.