by 11honza11. 04/30/24 08:16
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 947 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR
19050 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
The ultimate tree shader? #426104
07/16/13 16:34
07/16/13 16:34
S
Stratego Offline OP
Stratego  Offline OP
S

Okay so what I’m looking to do here is have, as the title says, the ultimate tree shader. I’m relatively new to this, but I am fairly competent when it comes to scripting / programming.

What I want the shader to do: Be affected by the sun and dynamic lights, have normal bump with specular, move verts like in the animTree.fx, and have shadow map support so I can bake occlusion.

So the tree would have 2 sets of UVs, one for color and one for shadow. It would have 3 textures, one with color in RGB and transparency in alpha, one with normal map in RGB and specular map map in alpha, and one with a shadow map.

Shadow is the most important, because baked occlusion (on trees modeled correctly) would look great. I modeled the tree below to demonstrate the affect of just occlusion (the tree isn't done yet, but you get the picture). It’s not common for a tree to be upside down, so the lighting should almost always look good.

The reason I’m posting is to see if this is possible. An expert may be out there thinking: “You can’t mix X with Y!” So I figured before I started diving in I’d ask to see what people think.

Last edited by Stratego; 07/16/13 16:59.
Re: The ultimate tree shader? [Re: Stratego] #426112
07/16/13 17:02
07/16/13 17:02
Bavaria, Germany
Kartoffel Offline
Expert
Kartoffel  Offline
Expert

Bavaria, Germany
Well... I'm not an expert but what you want to do should be possible without any problems.