by dr_panther. 05/06/24 18:50
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (M_D), 1,430 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
firatv, wandaluciaia, Mega_Rod, EternallyCurious, howardR
19050 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: remodelling after image: copyright violation? [Re: fastlane69] #76673
06/19/06 00:10
06/19/06 00:10
Toronto
MadMark Offline
User
MadMark  Offline
User

Toronto
I am not a lawyer, but I have worked with some in the tech industry. You should consult with one if you are going to produce something that is SO similar that it cannot be distinguished from the original.

From http://www.gillhams.com/dict/copyright.cfm (I believe this UK based firm operates globally)
"Copyright is one of the central branches of the law of intellectual property. The law of copyright gives an owner the exclusive right to prevent reproduction of certain works by others. Copyright provides owners with some element of control over the exploitation of their works. Copyright protection applies automatically from the moment the work comes into existence and subsists usually for at least 50 years. Copyright does not extend to ideas, or schemes, or systems or methods; it is confined to their expression - that is the form in which they appear either on a page or the form in which they are otherwise recorded."

For US specific information: http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ1.html#wci

I can't recall the exact formula for factoring this, but I believe that you would have to have 70% original material in the object in question to have it ranked as an original work.