by flink. 04/14/24 07:46
AUM Magazine
Latest Screens
The Bible Game
A psychological thriller game
SHADOW (2014)
DEAD TASTE
Who's Online Now
4 registered members (7th_zorro, Quad, VoroneTZ, 1 invisible), 623 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
EternallyCurious, 11honza11, ccorrea, sakolin, rajesh7827
19046 Registered Users
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Newton users: Tech Demo question #23251
02/13/04 15:32
02/13/04 15:32
D
DoctorFong Offline OP
DoctorFong  Offline OP
D

I posted this on the Newton forum but have had no luck. It's not a complicated problem, but I'm a total noob and stuck:

My question has to do with the vehicle in the tech demo (the driveable crane): Namely, with what action does one control its movement? I created a similar vehicle base (just a simple rectangular body with four wheels). It works fine, as in it will move around on the floor if I shoot it, but I’m in the dark as to how to assign an “action” to it, since the action of all the components is “NewtonWoodEntity”.

I did receive this reply:

--------------
"You can make your own entity actions, just use the code from NewtonWoodEntity and create whatever action name youd like, maybe NewtonWheeledEntity in this case. In addition, you can assign parameters specific to your 'vehicle' in this new entity action."
--------------

OK, not too specific, but at least a start. This is what I did. I created the following action:

ACTION player_NewtonDrive
{
NewtonCreateGravityEntity (wood_material);
MY._MOVEMODE = _MODE_DRIVING;
MY._FORCE = 1.5;
MY._BANKING = 0.5;
MY.__SLOPES = ON;
MY.__TRIGGER = ON;
player_move();
}

I put it in the NewtonScript2.wdl after the "NewtonTerrain" action. I gave the chassis of the vehicle the "player_NewtonDrive" action.