I've been searching for days, but all I can find is either too complicated for me, or it uses external software that works only as a VNC.

I want to stream my app to debian and use a raspberry as a handheld "monitor" of my laptop using sockets.

I've found (very few) examples that use D3D to access the backbuffer and write it to a file, but I have no idea if this is suitable to be streamed (not sure if it can be turned back into an image on the client) and also, I have no idea how to get the device context and stream this info using a socket (Theres only a D3D function to save the data as an image file, which is slower than sending that data directly).

I'm a newbie in D3D, but I'll get better soon.

Anything that can point me in the right direction will be appreciated laugh

Thanks.

PS.: I found this, an example by HeelX on grabbing the screen, and from what I can understand, "hBitmapdc" holds the content of the backbuffer for the desktop (lets assume I somehow point it towards the engine window grin ), how can I send it to Python socket client (what kind of data it is?) and will Python understand what it is, I mean, is it a bmp? Sorry if this sounds newbish, but I have no idea what this buffer holds grin
I found this for Python (wx) which creates an image from a buffer object (suppose a socket put that data in that object) and display it later as a streamed image in a window:
Quote:

CopyFromBuffer(self, data, format=BitmapBufferFormat_RGB, stride=-1)
Copy data from a buffer object to replace the bitmap pixel data.
Default format is plain RGB, but other formats are now supported as
well.

Here's the example from HeelX on grabbing the image:
Quote:

// Grabs the entire desktop. Make sure to set video_alpha to 0 before and to 100 after,
// to grab the desktop without the engine. Returns a BMAP* with the grabbed desktop.
//
BMAP* bmap_for_desktop ()
{
BMAP* bmap = NULL;

// get the device context of the entire desktop, including windows bar and everything